Bharaṇī (भरणी), also referred to as Apabharani, is “The Bearer”. Is this because the womb bears and nourishes what will come to be, like a soul undergoing its process of reincarnation (although not yet born)?

Three major symbols are key to understanding Bharaṇī: Yoni, its Shakti, and Yama.

Bharaṇī is symbolized by the Yoni (vulva), the female organ of reproduction. The Sanskrit name for the female generative organ is “bhaga,” and has several meanings, mainly through the imagery of a vessel, or “arghya,” which completely represents the feminine creative power. It represents: 1) the chalice used to pour water on statues of devas, representing an expression of devotion (symbolizes a bridge between human and divine), 2) a boat which transports people and goods (like Noah’s ark, which was used to transport seed to a safer time and place), 3) water, which symbolizes movement of life force, 4) transporting of souls between realms, and my personal favorite, 5) transiting from the realm of the subjective to that of the objective manifestation.

“Bhaga” also means “that which is auspicious” and is derived from, “Bhaj,” a word related to nourishment.

Yoni Symbolism

Yoni Symbolism

Its all about the metaphorical womb, which symbolizes changes that occur within, often growing imperceptibly until they are suddenly born and take on a new life of their own period. As such, it suggests personal breakthroughs that are often preceded by struggles and must be nurtured by self-control, willpower, and discipline. The womb achieves self-purification through menstruation, and this asterism rules a similar processes, including such ultimate expressions of purity as individual saintliness or societal utopia.

Bharaṇī’s association with the womb is also reflective of preservation, a link between the primeval source and the manifested event. It represents the bridge between father and offspring, that place in which the seed of creation is introduced, nourished, and born into its own. Bharaṇī’s role is the preservation and release of the “Golden Egg” (Hiranyagarbha).

Bharaṇī, therefore, is the productive zone of Mesha (Aries), where originality and impulsiveness are evident. Bharaṇī follows the first naksatra, Aśvinī (cosmic energy in its latent state), as cosmic energy in a kinetic, active, moving state. Hence, this is a great potential channel for creation or creative efforts.

Śiva/Śakti, the active and passive principles of manifestation, centrifugal versus centripetal, all such polarizing, dualist relationships are responsible for manifestation of all things. In this example, Aśvinī is Śiva and Bharaṇī is Śakti. Both are contained in Mesha (Aries), giving the rāśi its energetic, powerful, creative, electrifying potential. [Worthy of its own article?]

[There is much more in LOL on the representation of the womb… Need to fully assimilate that. At a later time.]

[Bharaṇī is also called the “The Star of Restraint.” Why???]


Bharaṇī resides between 13° 20′ and 26° 40′ Mesha (Aries). It consists of the stars 35, 39, and 41 Arietis in the constellation ….

Nature Puruṣārtha Varna Color Gana Guna/Tattva Gender Body Part Animal
Fierce (Urga) Artha Manushya Rajas/Rajas/Tamas Female

Working primarily under the rajas, or activity principle, it guides the soul in materialistic as well as spiritual growth. But its impulse being Artha (meaningful action), the soul wants to achieve results in both worlds. This can arouse a deep urge to investigate occult knowledge, while on the materialistic side it may impart an excessive desire for sexual indulgence.

Devata, Graha & Śakti

Bharaṇī is ruled by Śūkra, resides within the rāśi of Mesha (ruled by Mangala), and its presiding deva is Yama, the God of Death and King of Dharma.


Śūkra provides affinity with both extremes, but the four quarters are governed by Sūrya, Budha, Śūkra, and Mangala. The overall influence of Bharaṇī is sensitivity and sociability along with an acute sense of beauty and comfort, but in its various phases there may be egotism, activity, mentation, dedication, and social leadership.

A Mangala/Śūkra interaction of energy is experienced by planets which inhabit or transit Bharaṇī. The union of feminine (Śūkra) and masculine (Mangala) reflects creative potential that can be experienced here. Bharaṇī is therefore a conduit or channel for artistic gifts and talents.1


Yama guides the soul to the astral plane, where it can experience the result of its karma from the present life and prepare for the life to come. Yama is a figure of discipline and sacrifice.2 Yama also rules over souls in the state between incarnations.


Bharaṇī is also associated with Kālī.


Yama gives Bharaṇī the power to take things away (apabharani shakti). Its basis above is the removal of life from the body. Its basis below is the carrying of the soul to the realm of the ancestors. By the combination of these three factors creatures move on to the next world. Bharaṇī takes away that which has reached its term of life to a new condition. It shows the movement of the soul away from the body.3

Yamas & Niyamas


Āsanas, Mudras, Meditation & Bhandas

When the Moon is in the nakshatra of Bharaṇī, it’s an excellent day to perform the shatkarmas, or cleansing practices of yoga, and to fast by eating a restricted or mono-diet. Sexual yoga practices are also highlighted this day, as are all creative activities, including gardening and taking care of children, creating a flowing, meditative experience. If you have postponed a yoga practice, this is a good time to revisit and recommit. Be aware that slow and gentle yoga practices may be more challenging on this day and you may need to work with your breath to create calm energy in your practice.


Gemstones & Metals

Interests & Careers

publishing, writing, film and music industry, occultists, psychics, hypnotism, astrology, psychology, entrepreneurs, business, financial consulting, law, building contractors

Creativity, livelihood through the arts, entertainment, sports or other amusements, film industry, anything related to children and childbirth, the hospitality industry, caterers, cooks and hotel staff, production, processing, or distribution of food, tobacco, coffee and tea industries, slaughterhouses, knowledge of law, politics and other secular matters, high positions or people of high power, such as judges or ministers.


Engage In


As with all Nakṣatras, there are both auspicious and inauspicious characteristics to be considered. Bharaṇī is classified as a cruel/active nakshatra, meaning that, under electional astrological beliefs, works of a harmful or deceptive nature are best conducted while Candra is Bharaṇī.


Ayurveda & Health Issues

problems with reproductive organs, venereal disease, face and eyesight problems, head injuries.

Indicative of the head and bottoms of the feet.

This indicates the struggle and trauma that often accompany birth, and sometimes indicates a physical injury below the waist.

  1. Dennis Harness. The Nakshatras 

  2. David Frawley. Shaktis of the Nakshatras 

  3. David Frawley. Shaktis of the Nakshatras