Brihatparāśarahorāśāstra Chapter 2: Great Incarnations

Sloka 1

Maitreya: “O Mahārishi Parāśar, are the incarnations of Vishnu, viz. Śrī Ram, Śrī Krishn etc., endowed with Jivāńś?

Sloka 2

Maharishi Parashar: “O Brahmin, the four incarnations, viz. Ram, Krishn, Narasimh and
Varah are wholly with Paramatmāńś. The other incarnations (than these, out of the ten) have
in them Jivāńś too.

Sloka 3-4

The unborn Lord has many incarnations. He has incarnated, as the 9 (Nava) Grahas to
bestow on the living beings the results due to their Karmas. He is Janardan. He assumed the
auspicious form of Grahas to destroy the demons (evil forces) and sustain the divine beings.

Sloka 5-7

From Sūrya the incarnation of Ram, from Candr that of Krishn, from Mangal that of
Narasimh, from Budh that of Buddha, from Guru that of Vaman, from Śukr that of
Parashuram, from Śani that of Kurma (Tortoise), from Rahu that of Varah (Pig) and from Ketu that of Meen (Fish) occurred. All other incarnations than these also are through the Grahas. The beings with more Paramatmāńś are called divine beings.

Sloka 8-13

The beings with more Jivatmāńś are (mortal) beings. The high degree of Paramatmāńś
from the Grahas, viz. Sūrya etc. did incarnate, as Ram, Krishn etc. After completing the mission, the Paramatmāńśas (of the respective) Grahas again merge (in the respective) Grahas. The Jivatma portions from the Grahas take births, as human beings and live their lives according to their Karmas and again merge in the Grahas. And at the time of Great Destruction the Grahas as well merge in Lord Vishnu. The one, who knows of all these, will become versed in the knowledge of the past, present and future. Without a knowledge of Jyotish these cannot be known. Hence, everyone should have a knowledge of Jyotish, particularly the Brahmin. The one, who, devoid of knowledge of Jyotish, blames this Vedic Science will go to the hell called ‘Raurava’ and will be reborn blind.