Rasas & the Navagraha

Every trait, characteristic, behavior, and effect of everything we know of the past, present, and future can be described in terms of the Navagraha (nine planets). This includes emotion, energy in motion, which are constructs of Chandra (the Moon). The devi, Lalita, embodies the nine rasas (emotions).1 Associations of the Navagraha with these rasas is an example of how well the Navagraha embodies all concepts.

The Rasas

Rasa Emotions Graha (Planet)
Shringāra romance, love, beauty, devotion Śūkra (Venus)
Hāsya joy, comedy, humor, sarcasm Guru (Jupiter)
Abhuta wonder, awe, curiosity, mystery Rāhu
Shānta peace, calmness, relaxation Śani (Saturn)
Raudra anger, irritation, stress, wrath Maṅgala (Mars)
Vīra courage, pride, confidence, valor, heroism Sūrya (Sun)
Karuna sadness, compassion, sympathy Candra (Moon)
Bhayānaka fear, horror, anxiety, worry Budha (Mercury)
Bībhasta disgust, repulsion, depression, self-pity Ketu


Shringāra (शृङ्गार)

Shringāra is the emotion of romance, love, beauty, and devotion. It is associated with the bhāva of rati (pleasure and lust).

Hāsya (हास्य)

Hāsya is the emotion of joy, comedy, humor, and sarcasm. It is associated with the bhāva of hāsa (fun).

Abhuta (अभूत)

Abhuta is the emotion of wonder, awe, curiosity, and mystery. It is associated with the bhāva of vismaya (wonder and surprise).

Shānta (शान्त)

Shānta is the emotion of peace, calmness, and relaxation. According to the sage Abhinava-Gupta, peaceful Shānta is supreme above all others. It permeates and links all others like a single thread on which all others are strung. Interestingly, Shānta is best associated with Śani, which is arguably the “greatest” of the Navagraha, the karmic leveler, and the yogi.

Shānta is associated with the bhāva of shama (world-weariness).

Raudra (रौद्र)

Raudra is the emotion of anger, irritation, stress, and wrath. It is associated with the bhāva of krodha (anger and malice).

Vīra (वीर)

Vīra is the emotion of courage, pride, confidence, valor, and heroism. It is associated with the bhāva of utsāha (energy).

Karuna (करुण)

Karuna is the emotion of sadness, compassion, and sympathy. It is associated with the bhāva of shoka (sorrow).

Bhayānaka (भयानक)

Bhayānaka is the emotion of fear, horror, anxiety, and worry. I should first note that although many astrologers may not consider Budha (Mercury) to be most representative of fear, fear itself is only an illusion, something created by the intellect in response to energy which it cannot control. Therefore, Bhayānaka is the emotion created by the Buddhi (intellectual faculty), or Budha.

Bhayānaka is associated with the bhāva of bhaya (fear).

Bībhasta (विहस्त)

Bībhasta is the emotion of disgust, repulsion, depression, self-pity. It is associated with the bhāva of jugupsā (disgust).

Moon (Chandra)

Use in Chart Interpretations

Chandra (Crescent)

Chandra (Crescent). Artwork courtesy: Drdha Vrata Gorrick.

As Chandra represents one’s emotions, the rasas of the Navagraha are experienced when Chandra (the Moon) is influenced by a graha (planet). One’s emotions can be affected by Chandra being yuti (conjunct) with another graha, under the effect of the ruler of the rāśi (sign) in which it resides, or by a dṛṣṭi (aspect) from another graha. Emotions can also be affected by graha which reside in the rāśi of Karka (Cancer) or by graha which reside in the natural house of Karka, Sukha (the fourth house).

For example, if Chandra is in Kanya (Virgo), Budha’s worry may be present. If Chandra is yuti Maṅgala, Martian anger or irritation can be present. If either of these examples happens to take place in Sukha, an even greater chance that one’s emotions are being influenced by the influencing graha.

  1. V. Ravi. Understanding & Worshiping Sri Chakra. p. 57.; Lalita Sahasranama 376. 

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *